2020.Oct Monthly Reflection

Sam Liao
3 min readOct 31, 2020
A fantastic coffee shop named Remember me

Monthly Reflection is a project where I document my learning stuff and life experience last month. The project is aim to hone my English writing skills and track my spiritual status, if you are interest in my life, feel free to subscribe the project. 🎈

Introduction

2020 is quite complex for me. I just graduated from NTU and now serve as Data Analyst intern at Gogoro Network. At the same time, I have prepared for material of MSIM application, including SOP, GPA, GRE, TOEFL, RoL, School Research, for half year. All of these stuff almost push me on the verge of cliff, but also force me to face my drawbacks.

Right now I think that the most important essences I lack are self-discipline and organized mindset. To be more specific, I usually screw things on work not because of incompetence but being too careless to instruction from my supervisor. For example, sometimes I didn't do great document work or check data accuracy, which leads to more time on correcting my errors. It makes me realize that if I want to become a better person, being a greater leader, or pursuing more successful career, I had no choice but face the music and do my best to eradicate those bad habits.

Therefore, by writing diary on monthly basis, I believe that I could document the roads I have passed by, and at the same time, share a piece of personal life to the public to strike the balance between exposure and mystery.

All in all, that's start with October reflection. There are 3 topics that I want to discuss.

  1. SOP

When I started drafting SOP for applying MSIM, I encountered lots of frustration because I just couldn’t make an attractive and authentic story. As long as I put emphasis on each one, the balance would tilt. I just couldn’t persuade myself that I truly need the degree. Because I know my ultimate goals are to experience foreign life and get descent salary offer instead of many insincere stories hypocrites draw to make them seem outstanding and unique. Anyway, I'll still deal with the issue at November.

2. Running

I started running because I will participate in an event called Hood to Coast at the end of November. A five-people group will start running from Taitung to Hualien(175 km) for approximately 16 hours, which means that I have no choice but enhance my running skills and physical ability in prevention of some embarrassed situation. However, with each time of practice, I have found the pleasure of running. For instance, every time I suffered the pain of running, I told myself to persist and overcome problems with strong mentality. Through the training, I conquer the pain and also develop self-discipline. Besides, running really helps me evade from the overwhelmed world, thank you Endorphins!

3. Cigarette

During September, I sometimes released myself with three to five cigarettes every week, which is unusual for me. I loath the smoking me because regardless of how regretful I know I would feel after smoking, I still did it. And I also know that Endorphins indirectly derived from smoking only last for ten to twenty minutes, and we may feel more nervous and helpless after the end of honeymoon with cigarette. Fortunately, I didn’t be addicted to it because I am always aware of how viciously this villain would treat my health. What’s more, I have discovered the exact substitution of cigarette — running. I would keep being heathy than any people who don’t treat their body well, and hold the attitude of perseverance.

That's the wrap, and hope you enjoy it. I believe November would be more interesting because it is a crucial month in my career. See you then!

--

--

Sam Liao

Taiwanese 🇹🇼| New York | CMU MISM Grad| Runner 🏃 | Coding 💻 | Basketball🏀 | Chess ♟